Your Race.

“let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us”

Regardless of your religious affiliation these are just good words to live by.  Found in the Bible Hebrews 12:1b it has become my daily mantra.

Throw off everything that hinders and entangles.  Run with perseverance the race marked out for you.

Read that again.

The birth of social media has been both a blessing and a curse.  It can be used for some many good things but it can also be a trap that ensnares us. It becomes a time suck, a soapbox, a gossip generator and an isolator and my biggest trap: a vehicle of comparison.

A wise woman once told me to remember that people’s blogs, facebooks, twitters, etc are only snap shots of their life that they want you to see, the top ‘portfolio’ of their life if you will.  With this ugly comparison monster it is so easy to view your life as less than adequate or even mark it as a failure.

As of late I am in the process of ‘unplugging’.  I took facebook off of my phone, I am enforcing ‘office hours’ and I am intentionally participating in my life with  face time (no, not the Iphone app, real face time 🙂 )

At first it was almost a painful realization that life had been happening around me without my noticing but worse was almost feeling lost without constant social media intervention.  I am purposefully working on deciphering what ‘my race’ is without the constant interference and opinions of media influence.  And I am plodding onward with the direct support of those who take the time to invest in me and I in them.

In this new age I challenge you to really look at life.  Are you reacting to the life happening around you or are you living your life?

Being a mom of a little one my biggest fear is that I will somehow wake up and realize mine and my son’s life will have raced past me while my face was stuck to a computer screen.

So make some goals, stick to them, reevaluate what is important you and run after it with all that you’ve got and do not let anything get in your way.

This is your life after all.  Own it.

Leave a Reply

