Lasting Love

Weddings are beautiful, fun and often intoxicating [no, not just the alcohol… I meant the mood!!].  It is soooo easy to get pulled into the mindset that everything depends on.that.one.day.

Enter shameless plug here for why it is a *great* idea to hire a day of coordinator [at the very least]. 😉

However, wedding planners are not my main reason for posting 🙂 The real reason I am posting is because in the end, it is only one day.  Yes, it can be a very magical day to remember and you can bet your bottom dollar I am going to capture some fantastic images to make those memories last a life time.

But that is just it… the most important thing is that you have a lifetime with your hunny to enjoy them!

As much as I love shooting weddings, it is not the actual event that I am fascinated with capturing but the relationship.

There are very few things in life that can compete with photographing raw emotion and a wedding day should be *filled* with some raw emotions.  You are pledging to spend the rest of your life with someone!! Regardless of how long you have been together, known each other or ‘had that feeling’ this is HUGE!  AND AWESOME! And a reason to CELEBRATE!  WOOO!

One of the things that meant a lot to me as Rico and I were planning our wedding was how real our loved ones were with us about marriage.

Marriage.is.work.

But just like all things that require work, if you put the effort in the rewards are unbelievable!

A gift someone gave us before we got married was The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman.  This book changed our lives!  There are some spiritual elements to it, so if that isn’t your cup of tea I challenge you to read it anyway, the information he shares far supersedes the spiritual aspect of it!  Because this book has been a huge foundation in our marriage I give it to each of the couples I meet.

I want each couple that is interested in AMP to know that I am not only 100% invested in their wedding day but I am invested in their marriage.

I mean sure, from a business aspect I would love to not only photograph your wedding but also your maternity, newborn, family, dog, sweet 16, etc…. 😉  But seriously, marriage is awesome, to be respected and I take it seriously.

Another cool bonus I started offering this year is anniversary sessions.  All AMP couples that booked me for a wedding (past included!!!) receive a *FREE* anniversary session within a month of their wedding date, every year so long as they travel to where my business is located!  How awesome would it be for your 25th or 50th wedding anniversary to have 25 years of professional photography documenting your life as your family grows, changes and matures!  One thing I have learned through photographing my own family is that when life throws you a curve ball it is imperative to have those photographs of memorable times.

As AMP begins to grow I strive to grow a client base built on loyalty and memories.  From new couples just starting out booking alongside families I have known from the beginning.

As Valentines Day 2013 comes a close I hope that your love is lasting and grows stronger every day!!  Can’t wait to see and hear all of the great love stories beginning tonight!!! ❤

jillian gordon michele

Leave a Reply

