Winter…. Can be beautiful

I am a photographer.  I am a runner.  I am a mother.

Very few of those things encourage the love of winter.

Sure a long run in the sunny, snowy fields is beautiful- but rare (At least the sunshine part 😉 ) and often brutal with biting winds and results in wind burn to any exposed skin.  (Or if you’re lucky like me, sun burn AND wind burn!)

Occasional sessions in the snow photograph fabulously and often look fake if the snow is falling just right.  (but let’s be honest, that only happens 5% of the time!)

Sledding.  Enough said.  It is fun, however, getting  a toddler geared up to play in the snow is often more time consuming than the time actually SPENT in the snow.

AMP_4705(One beautiful photo session in the snow 🙂 )

ALL of that being said.  I experienced something last weekend that was just short of amazing.  the Grand Rapids Urban Adventure Race: Winter Edition.   It was something the combined every aspect of me (Well maybe not the momma of a toddler… but team mate?) and then beat it to a bloody pulp.  It was one of the hardest (third to a marathon and giving birth!) but like the first two, one of the most encouraging things I have done.

photo-10Our Team 🙂

There is something to be said about braving the elements (well we weren’t REALLY out in the middle of nowhere.. it was unlikely we would have died.. but it was still treacherous 😉 )  working together as a team, pushing yourself further than you imagined and doing things you never though you would (ie: snow biking!?)

I know that I should cherish that we experience all four seasons, I felt like last year I did!! But we didn’t really have a real winter.  I think I spent more runs outside last winter than actually on the treadmill.  But something that hit me as I was crawling through 18 inches of snow last weekend.

If you love something, be crazy enough to do it- in whatever conditions life throws at you.

I am trying to live my life this year differently.  With abandon.  With conviction, with intention.  So I am going to love winter this year, (yes Rico, laugh and hold me accountable).  Because without winter, I could not fully enjoy spring- or summer for that matter.

And after all, winter… can be beautiful.

photo-8

A big shout out to my team mates, Bruce Edwards and Dan and Monica Herman!!! I had a blast and I hope to do the summer edition!!! 😀

photo-11

Leave a Reply

