Combating Hibernation

Something I really struggle with is balance.  I make a lot of lists and then feel pressured to accomplish everything on the list. Right. Now.

Another thing I struggle with is being so overwhelmed by my list I decide to procrastinate on everything and clean, read or just be lazy.  (Winter, thank you very much for adding to my desire to hibernate in a cozy blanket and accomplish nothing!)

1329371012372_7512395

How do you find balance?  Obviously, at some point you have to decide to put on your big girl pants and get the job done.

Personally, I find that lists helpful.  Katelyn James was featured on Justin and Mary Marantz’s blog about making useful lists (not the overwhelming kind).  She highlighted to actually write things down and to check them off.  As a Type-A personality I get a certain high from checking things off my list; if you are keeping track of your tasks on a computer or smart phone I would recommend you try a good ol’ pen and paper method.  Bonus! Use a nice big fat marker to draw a line through accomplished tasks. 🙂

photo-2

Another method Katelyn talked about at the P31 Conference was to make a ‘Big List’.  I have recently begun this practice and it really does help me from getting so overwhelmed and just taking a nap instead.  You write out separate lists of what needs to be accomplished.  Make a list of daily things, weekly tasks and maybe monthly goals.  As you accomplish tasks you can cross them off and see your progress.  This has really worked well for me.  Something else I am trying to put into practice that Katelyn talked about is accomplishing the less desirable tasks first 😉 but baby steps!

543066_10151334823104723_1631439915_n

So as you begin to embrace the second week of January, have you already fallen behind on some of your goals?

Shake it off.

I think as Americans especially we put a lot of emphasis on ‘New Year: New You’ but I have really felt convicted lately that it isn’t a new year ‘thing’ instead a journey of constant reflection and changes.

Start with baby steps, make a plan, make a list and do something.

Even if it is only one thing.

Remember to take breaks.   Give yourself the standard of grace.  (Thank you Emily Ley!)

ELP_Print_GNP_white_grande

Happy New Year!  Now go kick some butt!

602705_10151328722564723_405700340_n

Leave a Reply

